Birchbox August 2016 Review & Unboxing

birchbox august 2016 review and unboxing

The August 2016 Birchbox is themed ‘Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop’ (damn, now I have the Miley song stuck in my head…) and is filled with beauty products that won’t ‘slow us down’ as we enjoy the last months of Summer – from purifying cleansers to shine sprays for your hair.  Keep reading to see the full rundown of the products I received, along with my overall August 2016 Birchbox review!

birchbox august 2016 review and unboxing

birchbox august 2016 review and unboxing

birchbox august 2016 review and unboxing

My Birchbox August 2016 Review

In total, my August 2016 Birchbox came with five samples, ranging from haircare, skincare, and makeup.  Here are all the products I received, along with my initial impressions of each.

avene cleanance cleansing gel for face and body

Avène Cleanance Cleansing Gel for Face and Body – I love Avène’s Thermal Spray Water, so I thought this would be just as refreshing and hydrating.  Unfortunately, although soap-free and formulated with French thermal spring water, it still contains sodium and sulfates which is very drying for my skin. I do however like that it can be used on the face and the body – maybe I’ll bring this along on a camping trip to cut back on products.

ren flash hydro boost instant plumping emulsion

REN Flash Hydro Boost Instant Plumping Emulsion – This must be the third or fourth skincare product from REN that I’ve gotten in my Birchbox – but I’m not disappointed!  Just like all the other REN masks and serums I’ve tried, this one is extremely hydrating, feels amazingly lightweight on the skin, and smells SO good too!  It contains the ‘big 3’s’ when it comes to helping to lock in moisture – hyaluronic acid, peptides, and ceramides.  (You can go to REN’s website and sign up for a free sample here!)

bumble and bumble hairdressers invisible oil primer

Bumble and bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil Primer – Birchbox already has me hooked on their Beauty Protector products, but if I had to choose a second favorite hair care brand, it would have to be Bumble and bumble – I see (and feel) instant results with their products.  This is an amazing lightweight hair ‘primer’ (never used one of those before) that works sort of like a leave-in conditioner in that it detangles, de-frizzes, defends against heat damage, and tames flyways.

oribe apres beach wave and shine spray

Oribe Après Beach Wave and Shine Spray – I had a chance to try out Oribe’s Dry Texturizing Spray a year ago in another Birchbox, and fell in love with the quality and effectiveness that, in my opinion, justify the somewhat high price tag. I was excited to get the chance to try out another versatile spray from their hair care line — this one can be used on dry or wet hair, and adds both texture and shine.

manna kadar cosmetics fantasy eyeshadow

Manna Kadar Eyeshadow – This is just one color from Manna Kadar Cosmetics’ Day-Dream Palette.  It’s called “Fantasy” and is a very shimmery rose gold – great for easy, everyday wear.  Here’s a swatch:

manna kadar cosmetics fantasy eyeshadow swatch

Final Thoughts

Overall, my box for August 2016 had some useful, everyday products (cleanser, moisturizer, post-shower hair care, and of course eye shadow), all from high-quality brands.  The stand-outs were the REN Flash Hydro-Boost moisturizer (this could easily become my new HG moisturizer – definitely looking into a full-size) and the Apres Beach Wave and Shine Spray (great for those low-maintenance hair care days!).

birchbox august 2016 review and unboxing

birchbox august 2016 review and unboxing

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox’s monthly box, you can sign up here. It’s only $10 a month and is a great way to test out some great products.

If you are subscribed, let me know what you thought about your August 2016 Birchbox!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Share: