GLOSSYBOX April 2017 Review & Unboxing

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

Today we have an unboxing and review of the new April 2017 GLOSSYBOX!  Since Spring is now in full swing, they’ve curated a box full of products to help brighten everything from our complexion to our fragrance collection.

If you’re new to GLOSSYBOX, it’s a monthly subscription box that delivers 5+ luxury beauty goodies straight to our door, ranging from deluxe to full-sized products.  The box costs $21/month, and ships to the 48 states within the USA, as well as Canada.  Glossybox is also available to the UK, France, Germany, Norway, and Sweden (though the contents all differ).

Now, let’s take a look at the April 2017 GLOSSYBOX contents, along with my overall thoughts and review…

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

April 2017 Glossybox Review

The April 2017 GLOSSYBOX brings us 8-9 samples ranging from makeup, skincare, haircare, body care, and perfumes to carry us into the spring and summer months. Here’s the full rundown –

Items included in all boxes:

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

(Two!) ColourPop Cosmetics Ultra Matte Lipsticks (Full size, Value: $6 each) – If you’re a Colorpop fan or have been wanting to try them out, then you’ll be excited to see not one, but two of their lippies this month!  Colorpop’s Ultra Matte Lipsticks feature a thin, fairly lightweight formula that leaves intense pigment with a matte finish.  Once they’ve dried down, they’re surprisingly long-wearing (especially for a $6 lipstick!).  The shades vary per box – I received Airplane Mode (a muted pink-brown) and Tuesday (a bright coral red).  I’ve checked out other boxes, and it appears that GLOSSYBOX gives you one bright color, and one slightly more everyday-wearable nude color.

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

Left: Airplane Mode (a muted pink-brown), Right: Tuesday (a bright coral red)

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

Doucce Maxlash Volumizer Mascara (Full size, Value: $22) – Created to intensify our lashes with ‘outrageous volume and length’.  This mascara comes with XL brush fiber bristles to help coat our lashes evenly with its carbon black formula, adding depth and dimension. The packaging and XL brush look very similar to Bobbi Brown’s Eye Opening Mascara (one of my all-time favorites).  The only difference I noticed is that Doucce’s wand isn’t quite as fluffy, and instead creates more length and separation rather than all-around fullness and volume like Bobbi Brown’s.  I haven’t decided which one I like more – both perform very well!

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

Vasanti Cosmetics Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator (Value: $5.67) – I actually received a sample of this way back in a past Birchbox and fell in love (it looks like they’ve since re-designed their packaging).  The formula is extremely gentle, yet super effective and even multi-tasking – it brightens and breaks down dead skin with papaya enzyme, exfoliates with micro-crystals to help smooth your skin’s surface, and cleanses with an aloe-enriched cream gel.  Even after one use, it leaves my skin looking brighter, smoother, and more even toned.

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

*Mystery Bonus Product* Beauty Shampoo & Conditioner (Value: unknown at this point!) – The month, GLOSSYBOX partnered with a secret brand to bring us a well-known shampoo and conditioner duo that has recently been reformulated. Subbies will find out the brand via email, but in the meantime, they want us to try out the duo and let GLOSSYBOX know what we think via a survey that opens 4/15.

This mystery ‘Beauty’ Shampoo and Conditioner duo supposedly works with all hair types and is safe for everyday use and for color-treated hair.  It claims to leave you with soft, smooth, healthy, and great- smelling hair.  The scent does smell very familiar to me…my guess is that they’re Aussie products, but we’ll see!


Subscribers receive two of the items listed below:

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

Vince Camuto Ciao Eau de Parfum (Value: $6.07 for .25 oz) – Ciao was created to ‘celebrate the spontaneity and energy of the modern women’s lifestyle’.  It’s a very feminine scent with lots of florals and top fruity notes including Italian Mandarin, rose, jasmine, amber, and Indonesian patchouli.  Not my favorite, but then again, I prefer more masculine scents.  However, if you like something very bright and flirty, this blend is quite pretty and well-balanced.

Glossybox April 2017 Review and Unboxing

Aromafloria For Feet’s Sake Intense Repair Spa Foot Butter (Value: $4 for 1 oz) – This purse-sized foot butter contains shea butter, vitamin E, tea tree, and mint to keep our feet moisturized and feeling fresh.  I personally love the subtle minty scent.  The formula is also rich yet lightweight, and absorbs super quick.

Jafra Cosmetics Paris Et Moi Eau de Parfum – A feminine scent featuring Mara strawberries, rose petal macaron, and silky wood notes.

Gilchrist & Soames Beekind Shower Gel & Body Lotion – A duo featuring a fresh lemon verbena fragrance and extracts of honey and calendula extracts.


Wrap-Up

Overall, this month’s GLOSSYBOX features an excellent variety of products, though it wasn’t an absolute favorite.  Stand-outs for me include the two full-sized ColourPop Lipsticks (super pigmented and practically bulletproof once set) and the Vasanti Cosmetics Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator (love the instant results!).  Value-wise, the total box value comes out to around $50, not including the bonus mystery product.

Like what you see? Visit GLOSSYBOX if you’re interested in picking up the April 2017 box!

 


What are your thoughts on the April 2017 GLOSSYBOX?

 

*The box was sent to me by GLOSSYBOX for review consideration.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Share:
  • so much products inside the box … lovely post 🙂

  • Misty Hough

    I loved April’s box! Its Amazing! So many products and a nice balance of makeup, skin and hair products. I usually don’t love the perfumes in the past boxes (they usually remind me of a granny) but I adore this month’s perfume (I received Ciao)! I would definitely purchase the full size. I have already tried both lipsticks and am SOLD! I’m a mascara snob and was very impressed with this Mascara. I just received my box yesterday and haven’t yet tried the other products but I can’t wait to do so. As for the mystery hair care products….I’m super excited! I love the idea of this “mystery and reveal” concept. I hope they continue this idea (as a bonus product or as 1 of the 5). Obviously those of us that subscribe to the box love being surprised and trying new products so this feels like a perfect fit for the Glossybox norm.

  • Lisa

    I wasn’t impressed with this months box, I didn’t like the lip colors both very very bold and I don’t care for the matte. i got the jafra perfume which smells like a cheap version of something at the drugstore I got a body wash and shower gel which I will take on vacation, the only thing I really liked in the box was the mascara