Play! by Sephora July 2016 Review & Unboxing

play! by sephora july 2016 review and unboxing

A brand new subscription box has been added to my ‘subscription addiction’ – the Play! by Sephora box.  I’d been on the waitlist of this box for almost a year now – since it first came out around September 2015 – and finally got a chance to try it out!

New to Play! by Sephora? It’s a monthly subscription box that brings exclusive Sephora beauty and makeup samples straight to your door. The box comes with 5 deluxe beauty products and a bonus fragrance item, plus more fun stuff like tips and extra Beauty Insider points if you visit in-store.  The subscription only costs $10 per month, so it’s right there with Birchbox and Ipsy in the price.  It’s available to the US only at this time.

play! by sephora july 2016 review and unboxing

play! by sephora july 2016 review and unboxing

The theme for the July 2016 box is ‘Effortless Summer’, and it includes warm-weather essentials to get us through the long, hot summer days.  It comes with a fold out poster that shows all the items included in this box, along with some extra tips.  The items are all placed inside a bag to keep everything secure (which features a super cute popsicle design this month!).

play! by sephora july 2016 review and unboxing

This month subscribers received one of two different box variations based on their Play! profile.  The first three I have shown below were included in all boxes, while the last three were different based on your skin type and tones (the products I received seem to all cater more toward combo/oily skin types). Here’s a rundown of all six samples.

beautyblender blotterazzi by beautyblender

beautyblender blotterazzi by beautyblender –  I was super excited to try out this product, especially after Bunny (a.k.a. Grav3yardgirl on Youtube) gave this a pretty decent review.  The sample pack comes with one blotterazzi to try out, which lasts for 30-45 days, and comes with a blendercleanser sample to use to keep it clean.  (The full size product comes with two sponges to last you 2-3 months and a compact mirror for $20.)

Ouai Wave Spray

Ouai Wave Spray (1.7 fl oz) – The first thing I do with these wave/beach sprays is give them a lil sniff, and this one smells amazing!  Turns out, it’s scented just like the Ouai No. 2 Fragrance, and contains notes of Italian lemon, amber, and white musk.  It’s sodium chloride free, so it doesn’t make your hair feel stiff or dry, but adds some light waves with body!

NEST Citrine

NEST Citrine

NEST Citrine (0.04 fl oz) – “The dewy softness of lotus flower and freesia are set against sparkling citrus notes and hints of precious woods.”  It starts off quite citrusy, then tones down to a fresh floral.  There’s nothing particularly uniquely memorable about it, but it does work nicely if you’re looking for just a casual weekend fragrance. (Perfume samples are a bonus with this subscription.)

Too Faced Soleil Matte Bronzer in Chocolate for Medium:Deep skintones

Too Faced Soleil Matte Bronzer in Chocolate Medium:Deep swatch

Too Faced Soleil Matte Bronzer in Chocolate for Medium/Deep skintones (0.08 oz) – I’ve been wanting to try these chocolate-scented makeup products from Too Faced since their Chocolate Bar eyeshadow palette first released.  Just as I expected, the matte bronzer smells so delicious (it’s formulated with real cocoa powder!).  I was also surprised at the very generous sample – it’s almost 2x the size of a MAC eyeshadow pan!  Best part – it’s a natural looking brown, with no shimmer, which makes it great for contouring. (The other box came with the new Benefit Cosmetics Dew the Hoola Soft Matte Liquid Bronzer).

Smashbox Photo Finish Oil Free Foundation Primer Pore Minimizing

Smashbox Photo Finish Oil Free Foundation Primer Pore Minimizing (0.25 fl oz) –  This is a perfecting primer that ‘instantly blurs imperfections and reduces the appearance of pores for up to eight hours’.  Can’t wait to try it out – I’ve heard great things! (The other box came with the Smashbox Iconic Photo Finish Foundation Primer).

First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser With Red Clay

First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser With Red Clay (1 oz) –  This is a foaming gel cleanser that works especially well for combo or oily skin.  It helps remove excess oils, unclog pores, and purify the skin using red clay, rosemary leaf oil, and botanical antioxidants. I found it to be a little drying at first, but surprisingly, I noticed little to no oilies on my skin as the day went on – this could end up taking a spot in my everyday skincare routine! (The other box came with the First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser.)

play! by sephora july 2016 review and unboxing

In total, the July 2016 Play! by Sephora box I received came to a value of over $35.  I loved the variety of high quality products and the generous sample sizes.  The standouts for me were the beautyblender blotterazzi (I can see this really coming in handy during these hot Summer months!) and the Too Faced Soleil Matte Bronzer – I wish more of my makeup was scented like this one!

play! by sephora july 2016 review and unboxing

Also, don’t forget that each box comes with a PLAY! Pass that can be used at your nearest Sephora to get a one-on-one tutorial on how to use the items in this month’s box – tailored just for you. Plus, you get 50 extra Beauty Insider points with any purchase (I don’t believe it has to be a product from the box either – the website says ‘any purchase’).

What did you think of the July Play! by Sephora? If you are interested in subscribing (the waitlist is open) or learning more about the box, you can check them out here!

Save

Save

Save

Share: