Play! by Sephora August 2016 Review & Unboxing

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (4 of 12)

After an impressive first box, I decided to continue my Play! by Sephora subscription into August.  New to Play! by Sephora? It’s a monthly subscription box that includes 5 deluxe beauty samples and a bonus fragrance item, plus extra tips and in-store bonuses.  The subscription only costs $10 per month and currently available to the US only.

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (4 of 12)

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (1 of 1)-2

The theme for the August 2016 Play! by Sephora box is ‘The Eye Openers’.  It includes both makeup and skincare, with a primary focus on products that can be used to create a sultry eye makeup look for Fall.

The items arrive inside a bag to keep everything secure (featuring a super cute design, as usual!).  Here’s a rundown of all six samples I received.

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (5 of 12)

Make Up For Ever Artist Shadow in I-544 – This is a gorgeous pinky-plum shade with subtle shimmer.  It has a silky smooth texture and rich pigmentation – just as I’d expect from MUFE (I love their eye products!).

Sephora Collection Contour Eye Pencil in Flirting Game (some boxes included the shade ‘Love Affair’) – I’m a big fan of Sephora’s 12hr wear eye pencils – they seem to last forever on me.  The ‘Flirting Game’ shade is a dark plumy-taupe with some slight shimmer.  It pairs beautifully with the MUFE eyeshadow.

sephora waterproof contour eye penci flirting game swatch

Sephora Collection Contour Eye Pencil in Flirting Game \ Make Up For Ever Artist Shadow in I-544

play! by sephora august 2016 review

play! by sephora august 2016 review

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara – This is one of my favorite mascaras!  I received a sample a little while ago in another subscription box, and fell in love with the instant drama it creates in just 2-3 swipes.  I have yet to buy a full-size, but this will hold me over a little while longer until I run out!

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (4 of 4)

Algenist Eye Renewal Balm (some boxes included the Caudalie Resveratrol Eye Lifting Balm) – Love the texture of this balm. It’s a little thinner than other eye creams I tried, which is nice because it’s very easy to spread without tugging on the eye area.  It feels very refreshing and really softens the skin.

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (1 of 1)

Lancome Energie De Vie Smoothing & Glow-Boosting Liquid Care – This has a slightly watery and thin formula, which actually works to its advantage – it spreads easily for a quick application, and absorbs quickly too.  It does exactly what it says – my skin feels soft and smooth with a slight glow after applying a small amount.  I could definitely see myself using this in the winter when my skin needs that extra boost before I apply my foundation!

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (4 of 4)

CLEAN Reserve Warm Cotton (some boxes included ‘Blonde Rose‘)  – If you love the smell of clean, fresh laundry, you’ll enjoy this scent.  It’s great for a quick pick-me-up on a lazy Sunday morning!

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (4 of 12)

Overall, I loved the variety of products in this month’s Play! by Sephora box.  The standouts for me were the Sephora Contour Eye Pencil and the Makeup For Ever Artist Shadow (both shades were amazing quality, gorgeous, and coordinated!).

play! by sephora august 2016 unboxing and review (4 of 12)

Each box also comes with a fold out poster that shows all the items in this box, along with some extra tips.  Additional extras include the PLAY! Pass that can be used at your nearest Sephora to get a one-on-one tutorial on how to use the items in this month’s box. Plus, you’ll get 50 extra Beauty Insider points in-store with any purchase (I don’t believe it has to be a product from the box either – the website and card both say ‘any purchase’).

What did you think of the August Play! by Sephora? If you are interested in subscribing or learning more about the box, you can check them out here!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Share: