Julep Maven December 2015 Review & Unboxing

julep maven december 2015 box

Today I wanted to share with you my latest Julep Maven box (the December 2015 box)!  It’s been a while since I opted in for a box, so I decided to give this month a go.  I ended up customizing my box completely and picking out quite a variety of products – including makeup, nail polish, and skincare.  I also had some ‘Jules’ (i.e. credits) available, so I threw in an add-on item as well.  Let’s take a look inside!

julep maven december 2015 unboxing

December 2015 Base Selections

To go along with the Julep December 2015 Maven box, Julep released their ‘All Night Long’ Collection, which consisted of some new nail polish shades, new stud decals, four new ‘Dial Up Your Glam’ Multidimensional Orbital Eyeshadow shades, and the launch of their new liquid-to-matte hydrating lip mousse.

Despite all the new products, the only one I picked out from their latest releases was the Multidimensional Orbital Eyeshadow in the shade ‘Cosmos’, which is a dark golden-green shade.

I also had a choice of throwing in a few more products, so I decided to pick up the Julep ‘What Your Skin Needs’ Restorative Facial Milk.  It’s a fairly new skincare product that seems quite similar to the Josie Maran Pure Argan Milk Intensive Hydrating Serum, only less expensive.  Given my experience with Julep’s skincare products, I had high hopes for this one!  I also picked up a nail polish in the shade Michaela as my third and final item.

Add-ons

Julep gives you the option to select extra ‘add-ons’ to your order (that you can get for a little less than what they’re priced at in the store).  Plus, if you choose at least three add-ons, Julep will throw in a surprise nail polish. 🙂

I decided to go for just one add-on this month and selected the ‘Mystery Polish’ option.  They sent me the shade Sawyer as my surprise polish, which I actually quite like!

julep december 2015 box

To summarize, my Julep Maven December 2015 box included:

  • 2 nail polishes (Sawyer and Michaela)
  • 1 makeup product (Julep ‘Dial Up Your Glam’ Multidimensional Orbital Eyeshadow in Cosmos)
  • 1 skincare product (Julep ‘What Your Skin Needs’ Restorative Facial Milk)
  • 1 candy cane (bonus!)

My Julep December 2015 Review

After testing out each of the nail polishes, I was very happy with the colors – they are perfect shades for the Fall and Winter seasons.  The shade Sawyer is described as a ‘copper patina molten’ shade.  It has a beautiful shimmer that adds a multidimensional look to the polish.  The second shade called Michaela is a ‘blackcurrant microglitter shimmer’, that frankly looks nothing like the photo from Julep’s website!  The polish is more blue-toned, not purplish-red like they show online.  Regardless, the color is still pretty and quite unique.

julep sawyer and michaela nail polish

Second item up is the Julep ‘What Your Skin Needs’ Restorative Facial Milk.  I’m actually really liking this – it’s perfect for the Winter months as it really locks in moisture and hydrates the skin.  The formula is a lot thinner than oil, which makes it easier to apply and spread evenly over your skin.  It also absorbs fairly quickly, and leaves skin plump and amazingly soft to the touch.

julep what your skin needs restorative facial milk

Lastly is the Julep ‘Dial Up Your Glam’ Multidimensional Orbital Eyeshadow in the shade ‘Cosmos’.    It’s super easy to apply and blend, and stays put for a good 6+ hours with very minimal creasing.  It does contain quite a lot of shimmer, but surprisingly, that all stays put too – I haven’t had an issue with fallout, and only spotted 2-3 little shimmer particles under my eye after a whole day of wearing it.  Pigmentation is decent as well – the first swipe looks good on its own, and it can also be layered to create varying intensities.

julep dial up your glam multidimensional orbital eyeshadow in cosmos

Here’s a swatch of the Julep ‘Dial Up Your Glam’ Multidimensional Orbital Eyeshadow in Cosmos (using 2 swipes):

julep dial up your glam multidimensional orbital eyeshadow in cosmos swatch

Overall, I was very happy with this month’s Julep Maven box.  The Restorative Facial Milk alone was worth the cost of the box, plus the polishes and eyeshadow really made this one worth while!

If you’re interested in trying out Julep’s monthly subscription box, you can sign up here and get a welcome box for free!

What do you think of my Julep Maven box for this month?

Did you get a Julep Maven box this month too?  If so, let me know what you thought of your goodies!

Save

Share: