The Goodbeing Non-Toxic Beauty Box: December 2018 & January 2019

January 2019 Goodbeing Box review 3

The new year is here and it’s getting me in the mood to switch up my skincare routine again with some new formulas!  And just in time, Goodbeing came to my rescue with their subscription boxes filled with new, non-toxic beauty discoveries.  Before we get into the products, here’s a quick rundown on how the Goodbeing box works…

Goodbeing is a monthly subscription service that helps you discover cleaner, safer, and more naturally-formulated beauty and wellness products.  The service also offers an impressive amount of personalization compared to other non-toxic beauty/lifestyle boxes.  For $24.95/month (+ shipping for some countries outside the US), you’ll receive 4-5 items ranging from trial to full sizes, 1-2 of which you get to choose.  The rest is handpicked by the Goodbeing team based on your member profile (which includes things like skin type, hair type, color preferences, product preferences, and more).  If you’re curious what types of products and brands they feature, have a look at some of my previous boxes here!

For December and January, I choose to receive their beauty box (as opposed to their lifestyle box). Inside each box were two of my own product picks (which I’ve marked with a little * below), along with three selected by the Goodbeing team. Here’s a look inside both!

January 2019 Goodbeing Box

January 2019 Goodbeing Box review 3

My January box featured five beauty products, including a mix of non-toxic skincare – from antioxidant-rich masks to hydrating serums and night creams – plus one makeup item and a nail polish.

Bellapierre TwistUP Brow Pencil (Full size, value: $20) – I love these ultra-slim brow pencils – they’re perfect adding natural-looking fullness just where you need it most, without having to worry about over-doing it.  This one fits the bill, plus the Deep Brown shade I received (the darkest of the four shades available) is the perfect cool-brown for my darker brows.  The formula does require some pressure to apply though – I find it best to warm it up with my fingers first, then draw on using gentle strokes.

Bellapierre TwistUP Brow Pencil review

Paxi Skin Care Azure Facial Serum (Sample size, value: $5.92) – This serum reminds me a lot of Herbivore’s Lapis facial oil, in both look, feel, and ingredients.  Both are fast-absorbing and contain antioxidant-rich blue tansy (which gives them their blue tints) and hydrating squalane, plus other botanical-based ingredients.  The only differences I’ve noticed so far is one, the smell – Paxi’s has a much more subtle, pleasant herbal scent – and two, Paxi’s is a bit more lightweight, which means I may have found a new favorite!

January 2019 Goodbeing Box review 3

Entyze Green Tea Mojito Clay Mask (Full size, value $24.99) –  I’m in love with this mask!  It contains matcha green tea and french green clay, along with antioxidant-rich chlorella, Irish moss, and spirulina, nourishing coconut milk, and more.  The powder turns into a bright green when mixed with water (you can also mix it with tea, raw honey, milk, or yogurt!), and as you massage it into the skin, it provides gentle exfoliation.  Let it set (you can watch it as it absorbs oilies!), then rinse off once dry, and it leaves skin soft and smooth with a bit of a glow!

*Andalou Naturals CannaCell® Dreamy Night Cream (Full size, value: $19.99) –  I’ve been looking for a more natural-based, hydrating night cream to help balance out my combo skin without clogging my pores, and this is doing the trick!  It features CannaCell® hemp stem cells, organic hemp seed oil, and pure plant essential oils in the most luxurious, buttery-soft formula that feels lightweight and non-greasy, yet super moisturizing.  It also smells great too, with subtle notes of tangerine. Andalou’s skincare never disappoints – I can’t wait to try out more from this new collection!

Lauren B. Beauty Nail Polish in Hollywood Royalty 1

*Lauren B. Beauty Nail Enamel in Hollywood Royalty (Full size, value: $18) – I’ve been growing quite the collection of Lauren B. Beauty’s nail polishes.  They’re one of my favorite polish brands for a few reasons – they apply smoothly, dry quickly, and last long without much chipping.  They also come in tons of gorgeous shades and they’re free of a lot of the harmful chemicals found in most mainstream polishes.  The shade that I picked is called Hollywood Royalty.  It’s a dark, edgy purple with subtle shimmer and a shiny finish.

December 2018 Goodbeing Box

December 2018 Goodbeing Box review 3

My December box also featured five products.  This time, four were beauty-related – with items ranging from hydrating bath soaks and body butters, to nourishing serums and even mascara – and the fifth was an accessory.

Uniful Mascara (Full size, $22) – I love a good 2-in-1 mascara that nourishes my lashes, in addition to lifting and intensifying them (Josie Maran’s Black Oil mascara being one of mt previous favorites).  After trying it out a few times, I found that, while it doesn’t provide the same volume and fullness as Josie’s, it does provide both length and separation, giving the lashes a very natural, lightweight, ‘my-lashes-but-better’ look – perfect for casual weekends!

Uniful Mascara review

*Jivi Magnesium Body Butter (Full size, value: $18) –  Jivi is one of my favorite niche brands in the all-natural skincare realm.  I first feel in love with their exfoliating face washes, then their acne treatment (which really works), and now I’ve added their body butters to my list!  This one smells just like real chocolate, and it has a buttery-smooth texture that melts right into the skin without feeling heavy or greasy. Bonus – it also contains magnesium to relax muscles for a good night’s sleep!

December 2018 Goodbeing Box review 3

*MyChelle Dermaceuticals Clear Skin Pore Refiner (Full size, value: $28) – I’m a big fan of MyChelle’s non-toxic skincare, so I jumped at the opportunity to try out this combination skin-friendly serum when I saw it in the product pick window.  And I’m glad I did – my skin is loving it.  The clear, lightweight formula boosts hydration and leaves my complexion mattified with a smooth and supple feel. As for the pore-refining benefits, it’s too early for me to tell, but I’m hopeful considering my skin is already feeling more balanced!

Bonnie Skincare Oatmeal Milk & Honey Soak (Sample size, value: $3) – There’s nothing more comforting to the skin (and senses) than a soothing and nourishing bath soak, especially in the winter!  This one in particular has the most amazing scent – it’s so creamy and dessert-like – and contains all-natural, moisture-balancing ingredients like milk, oatmeal, honey, and sea salt to help sooth and relieve dry skin.

Bee Magical Bracelet (Value: $15) – This dainty little bracelet features a cute, vintage-looking bee charm that’s meant to serve as a reminder of the ‘magical pollinators all around us’.  If you head over to beemagicaljewelry.com, you can find the bracelet in a range of colors.  It also comes with the ‘Bee Magical Mix’, which contains a bunch of bee-loving flower seeds. Bonus – 10% of each sale is donated to the New York Bee Sanctuary!

Favorites Round-Up

I’m blown away by the variety and quality of skincare across these two boxes. Although I still have more experimenting to do, I thought I’d list out all my favorites from December and January (all full-size too, with the exception of the Paxi facial serum):

Learn more & sign up at Goodbeing


Have you tried the Goodbeing box?  What’s your favorite beauty subscription box?

Follow:
Share: