GLOSSYBOX August 2017 Review & Unboxing

glossybox august 2017 review & unboxing (1 of 1)

Today I’m reviewing the August 2017 GLOSSYBOX.  It’s the last box of the summer, and themed ‘Stay Cool’.  The box is filled with ‘chic must-haves that keep us looking and feeling cool, calm and collected’, including an exciting new release from Lancome.

New to GLOSSYBOX?  It’s a monthly subscription box that delivers 5+ deluxe to full-sized beauty products straight to your door. The box costs $21/month, and ships to the 48 states within the USA, as well as Canada. Glossybox is also available to the UK, France, Germany, Norway, and Sweden (though the contents all differ).

Now, without further ado, let’s dig into the August 2017 GLOSSYBOX (US edition) contents!

glossybox august 2017 review & unboxing

August 2017 Glossybox Review

The August 2017 GLOSSYBOX I received packed 5 samples – 3 makeup, 2 skin care, and 1 hair care.  Here’s the full rundown, beginning with the makeup items.

SESHA Skin Therapy Botanical Hydro Mask review

Pixi by Petra Brow Tamer (Full size, Value: $10.00) – I was never a fan of brow gels, only because the tend to harden and clump up my brow hairs, and half the time they never look natural.  This one however is super lightweight and keeps my brows feeling soft while adding natural definition.  I also love the added nourishing ingredients like aloe vera and panthenol (my brows could always use a little extra hydration).  I may just be adding this to my beauty routine from now on!

Doucce Freematic Blush Mono in Vintage Mauve

Doucce Freematic Blush Mono Vintage Mauve swatch

Doucce Freematic Blush Mono (Full-size, Value: $14.00 each) – The second I swatched this blush, I fell in love!  The texture is silky-smooth, lightweight, and incredibly easy to blend.  It’s also buildable – you can sheer it out or layer it a few times for a deeper flush.  The color I received is called ‘Vintage Mauve’ – it’s a beautiful medium mauve-y rose with a touch of shimmer that works as the perfect fall to summer transition color.  (Other boxes included the shade ‘Pink Beach’.)  I will definitely be checking out more from Doucce – they currently have 14 blush shades available on their website.  Only downside?  The pans are teeny!

Lancome Paris Monsieur Big Mascara (Deluxe sample, Value: ~$6) – This is the latest mascara release from Lancome, launched just last month.  I actually reviewed it already on my blog – you can check it out here and see my before and after!  (Spoiler:  It’s my new HG!)

glossybox august 2017 review & unboxing

Beautiful Nutrition Lemon Rinse Gentle Clarifying Treatment (Deluxe size, Value: $1.50) – This is a clarifying treatment, designed to help remove product buildup while also adding shine, preventing frizz, sealing in moisture, and maintaining a healthy scalp.  I plan to use this within the next few days and will update my review here soon!

SESHA Skin Therapy Botanical Hydro Mask review

SESHA Skin Therapy Botanical Hydro Mask (Full-size, Value: $9.00) – Masks make the perfect post-sun skincare treat, and this one is no exception.  It contains ingredients like hyaluronic acid, cucumber, and aloe to hydrate and calm skin.  Unlike other masks I’ve tried prior, this one came thoroughly soaked in serum, was comfortable to wear and fit my (slightly smaller-sized) face well, and even had a luxurious, refreshing scent.  After 20 minutes, it made my skin feel soft, smooth, and hydrated, with a slight glow.  I will definitely be purchasing more of these!

Bliss Fabulous Foaming Face Wash (Deluxe size, Value: $7.27) – I’m a big fan of dual cleansers + exfoliators (because my skin seems to never stop flaking), so I was excited to get a product like this in my box.  However, I’m not so much a fan of Bliss’s skincare, mainly because they put a lot of sulfates, parabens, dyes, and fragrances in their products.  Not to mention, this wash in particular contains ‘synthetic spheres’ which are known to be harmful to our water systems and environment (it’s on the ‘Red’ list on beatthemicrobead.org).  Until they reformulate, I’ll be passing on this one.


Wrap-Up

Overall, I definitely discovered some new beauty favorites in this box!  The absolute stand-outs for me included the SESHA Skin Therapy Botanical Hydro Mask (it’s one of the better quality sheet masks I’ve tried so far – it feels and smells luxurious, and is super hydrating) and the Pixi Brow Tamer (it creates natural definition and leaves brow hairs feeling soft to the touch). Value-wise, the total box value comes out to around $47 – not the best value I’ve seen, but it’s still worth over 2x the box cost of $21.

glossybox august 2017 review & unboxing (1 of 1)-2

Visit GLOSSYBOX to grab the August 2017 box (as of today, it’s still available)!

COUPON: Use code ‘JOSIE‘ (or ‘FREEJOSIE‘) to get a FREE Josie Maran Argan Enlightenment Illuminizing Powder Veil!


What are your thoughts on the August 2017 GLOSSYBOX?

 

*The box was sent to me by GLOSSYBOX for review consideration.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Share:
  • April@LoveOurRealLife

    I love an unboxing! The mascara looks great!

  • Joanne Kennedy

    Love this brow tamer! I feel like I need this box now!

    xoxo

    http://www.holajoanne.com

  • Simone Hjulmand Abild

    I love Pixi products and I definitely need to try some more of them! xx

    simonehjulmand.com

  • I usually love GB, but this one wasn’t my favorite. My items varied slightly though – I’m jealous you got the mask and the Lemon Rinse would be fun to try!

  • Need to try that brow tamer!

  • i love glossybox, and this one looks really good!
    http://www.layersofchic.com

  • Oh, I love these type of boxes! They always look so, so good and it seems like so much fun to have a little treat every now and then! I’m a bit addicted to face masks as well!