Birchbox November 2015 Review & Unboxing

birchbox november 2015 review

The November 2015 Birchbox was all about ‘Feeling Fancy’ for the holiday.  It came loaded with little goodies to use during the holidays to both indulge and help us feel our best – from niche fragrances, to luxurious body care products.

Keep on reading for the unboxing, rundown of all the beauty products in my box, and my overall Birchbox November 2015 review!

The Unboxing

birchbox november 2015 unboxing

birchbox november 2015 unboxing

My Review

In total, my November 2015 Birchbox included five generously-sized samples in the skincare, makeup, fragrance, and hair care departments.  Here are the products I received, along with my initial impressions of each.

a ayres body polish pampus sunrise

Rene Furterer KARITÉ Intense Nourishing Mask – (Full size: $29 for 3.4oz, Value of sample: $4.45) – This deep conditioning mask claims to help improve dry, damaged hair, and leave it smooth, glossy, and frizz-free.  I was able to get two uses out of this sample, and both times I was quite impressed!  It smells great, moisturizes the hair and scalp, and even contains little exfoliating beads and Salicylic Acid, which I assume both help the scalp.

AYRES Body Polish – (Full size: $25 for 6.75 oz, Value of sample: $3.70) –  I love AYRES bodycare products – their products smell amazing and this body polish is no exception!  I can’t wait to try it in the shower.  Until then, I keep opening up the jar to catch a whiff of it – lemongrass and patchouli…yummy!

Juliette Has a Gun Not a Perfume

Juliette Has a Gun Not a Perfume – (Full size: $90 for 50ml, Value of sample: $5.40)  – This is what you’d call a ‘minimal’ scent – the creater (Romano Ricci) used only one element—Cetalox (a synthetic substitute for grey amber)—to create this ‘perfume’.  It has a fresh and spicy scent that’s perfect for everyday, and completely office-friendly.

bbrowbar Brow Definer & MAKE Skin Illuminator

MAKE Skin Illuminator in Llos – (Full size: $34 for .20 oz, Value of sample: $25.50) – This is a pretty decent highlighter – it applies smoothly and is easy to blend into the skin.  The effect is a nice sheen with a little bit of shimmer.  The shade ‘Llos’ comes across as a warm peach and would look great over tan/darker skin.

bbrowbar Brow Definer in Indian Chocolate – (Full size: $25, Value of sample: $25) – This is one of my favorite products from the November box!  It’s an extra slim eyebrow pencil that allows you to draw very light, thin strokes to fill in brows, giving them a very natural look.  And it’s full size!!

Here are swatches of both the MAKE Skin Illuminator (left) and the bbrowbar Brow Definer (right):

make skin illuminator llos swath (1 of 1)

Final Thoughts

Overall, I was very happy with the products in my November 2015 Birchbox.  Two stood out in particular for me as products I could definitely see myself purchasing in the future – the body polish and the brow pencil.  Overall, I calculated a $64 total value for all the products!  The two makeup items in particular were the most impressive value-wise, considering I received a full size brow pencil and a nearly full sized illuminator.

Coupon Code

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox’s monthly box, you can sign up here and get $5 off your first box (valid through Dec 9th, 2015)!  (Regular price is $10 a month.)

If you are subscribed, let me know what you thought about your November 2015 Birchbox samples!

Share:
  • Ursula Ball

    I love your November BB esp the hair mask!! I went with the Guest Editor box cause I really love the Gold Eye shadow stick! 🙂

    Ursula

    http://www.blueridgebeautyblogger.com