Birchbox September 2015 Unboxing & Review

September 2015 Birchbox

To celebrate five years of being in the subscription biz, Birchbox has curated a box for all the people who have kept their service alive – the subscribers!  As a special ‘thank you’ for joining Birchbox on their journey and giving back through our feedback, Instagram posts, and reviews, they’ve put together an extra special box for us this month.  So let’s get started with the unboxing!

September 2015 Birchbox

September 2015 Birchbox Unboxing

In total, my September 2015 Birchbox included seven samples (five regular, and two bonus), ranging from makeup, skincare, haircare, and fragrance samples.  Here are the products I received, along with my initial impressions of each:

Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel Sensitive

English Laundry Eau de Parfum Signature for Her (Full-size, $32) – I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from a perfume called “English Laundry”.  I have to say, it wasn’t quite the sophisticated scent I was expecting (judging by the packaging and name).  It’s a very sweet (from the white chocolate!) and floral fragrance (from jasmine and rose).  While the scent is not my personal favorite, the formula itself has moderate sillage and lasts fairly long too.

Juice Beauty® GREEN APPLE™ Peel Sensitive (Full-size, $33) – This peel is perfect for sensitive skin!  It doesn’t cause any stinging, redness, or irritation (even if you leave it on a little longer than they suggest).  It very gently renews your skin, using organic, fruit-derived hydroxy acids and raw sugar cane.

Love Smoothing Shampoo and Conditioner

Davines LOVE Smoothing Shampoo (Full-size, $26) – This shampoo is specially formulated to tame frizzy and tangle-prone hair. It contains an infusion of olive extract that nourishes and enriches strands with fatty acids, vitamin E, and polyphenols for softer, smoother, and shiner hair.

Davines LOVE Smoothing Conditioner (Bonus!) (Full-size, $29) – Like the shampoo, this smoothing conditioner is supposed to further calm frizz and loosen tangles.  It’s also infused with olive extract to promote softer and smoother hair.

Malin + Geotz Grapefruit Face Cleanser and Vitamin E

(MALIN+GOETZ) grapefruit face cleanser (Full-size, $32) – This is a daily wash that helps dissolve dirt and makeup, clear breakouts, and balance skin’s natural pH.  I love its scent (it’s so light and refreshing), plus it lathers so well and forms a creamy texture.  I also like how it’s made without the use of harsh detergents, meaning there’s no stripping, drying, or irritation (which makes it perfect for Fall and Winter!).

(MALIN+GOETZ) vitamin e face moisturizer (Bonus!) (Full-size, $45) – Again, no use for a toner with this one!  It helps provide pH balance to your skin, similar to the face cleanser.  It feels extremely lightweight on the skin, and absorbs fairly quickly.

Pop Beauty Pop Portfolio Eyeshadow Sugar Plum

Pop Beauty Pop Portfolio Eyeshadow Palette

POP Beauty POP Portfolio Eyeshadow in Sugar Plum (Full-size palette, $26) – I’m so impressed by these shadows!  The quality is amazing – they are super velvety in texture and glide on buttery smooth.  Plus, they’re nicely pigmented and contain a gorgeous multi-toned shimmer.  I particularly love the colors I received in this palette (purple and greys are my favorite!).  Tip – Use a primer to enhance their color and keep them put!

Here are the swatches of each shade from the Sugar Plum POP Beauty palette:

Pop Beauty Pop Portfolio Eyeshadow Sugar Plan

Overall, I was very happy with all the sample products in the September 2015 Birchbox.  This month had the most samples out of all the previous boxes I’d received, and I really appreciated the two extra bonuses (even if they were only packet sized, I’d still expect to get 2-3 good uses out of them).

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox’s monthly box, you can sign up here. It’s only $10 a month and is a great way to test out some great products!

SPECIAL PROMO: Use my referral link here to get your first box for $5!  (Ends October 9th, 2015)

If you are subscribed, let me know what you thought about your September 2015 Birchbox!

Share:
  • Love the little products you received in the package! I especially love the colors on the palette, thanks for sharing xo
    fashionphases.com

  • Seeing the prices for the full sized items, I’d say you got some great sample deals! The box looks so cute as well, so colorful!

    x

    http://shopaholicoverhere.blogspot.com/

  • Ursula Ball

    I love my Davines Shampoo and Conditioner in my Sept BB box…I had 6 which is the most for this month due to Davines (I love it when they add both shampoo/conditioner/and or style product)!! I enjoyed your BB review!

    Ursula aka Blueridge Beauty