Birchbox October 2016 Review & Unboxing

october 2016 birchbox review and unboxing

The October 2016 Birchbox is themed “Revive and Restore” and filled with go-to rejuvenators for our skin, hair, and body as we slow down, get cozy, and transition into fall.

This month, I decided to go with the curated box – there were just too many products that stood out to me (like a new Glamglow mask and lavender sleeping spray…mmm). Keep reading to see the full rundown of the products I received, along with my overall thoughts on the curated October 2016 Birchbox!

october 2016 birchbox review and unboxing

october 2016 birchbox review and unboxing

Birchbox October 2016 Review

In total, the October 2016 curated Birchbox came with five product samples, all decently sized.  Here are all the products I received, along with my initial impressions of each!

This Works Deep Sleep Pillow Spray

This Works Deep Sleep Pillow Spray

This Works Deep Sleep Pillow Spray – This is the main reason I went with the curated box.  I’m obsessed with scents and to find one that helps me fall asleep and wake up more refreshed??  Yes please!  I took a whiff and love the smell already – it’s so relaxing and a little bit earthy and ground with the patchouli and vetivert.  Can’t wait to try this out tonight as I listen to ASMR videos on Youtube…

october 2016 birchbox review and unboxing

Oribe Gold Lust Dry Shampoo – I’ve been using Oribe’s Texturizing Spray as a dry shampoo replacement and absolutely love it, so I was excited to try out their actual dry shampoo version. It’s quite multi-tasking in that it absorbs oilies and build-up while also strengthening and softening the hair.

october 2016 birchbox review and unboxing

Avène Hydrance Optimale Hydrating Cream RICHE – Thanks to Birchbox, I’ve accumulated quite a few Avène cream products.  Their products all seem to work the same for me, providing a decent amount of hydration, but not much more.  I will definitely be using up the sample, but I don’t see this going in my shopping cart anytime soon.

october-2016-birchbox-review-and-unboxing-7-of-7

GLAMGLOW® POWERMUD™ Dualcleanse Treatment – I fell in love with GlamGlow ever since discovering their Supermud Clearing Treatment.  Though I’ve found a few comparable (and more budget-friendly) options for Supermud, I’m always curious to see what they come up with next.  This time, it’s a treatment that starts out as mud then transforms into oil to help re-hydrate, making it perfect for dry skin or winter time skincare! (Read my full review of GlamGlow Powermud here!)

october 2016 birchbox review and unboxing

MAKE Silk Cream Lipstick – Just as the name implies, these little lippies feel like silk – their formula is unlike anything I’ve ever tried, and also one of my favorites!  They go on super smooth, soften and hydrate the lips, and provide medium, natural-looking coverage with a soft satin finish.  The shade I received is “Magnolia”, a bright fuchsia pink.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I’m super happy with my decision to get the curated October 2016 Birchbox.  It gives me a chance to try out three new products from brands I love, including MAKE, Glamglow, and Oribe.  But I have to say, the real winner for me is the This Works Deep Sleep Pillow Spray – because getting a good night’s sleep is essential when its comes to looking our best!  😉

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox’s monthly box, you can sign up here. It’s only $10 a month and is a great way to test out some great products.

If you are subscribed, let me know what you thought about your October 2016 Birchbox!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Share: