Birchbox March 2016 Review & Unboxing

birchbox march 2016 review and unboxing

The March 2016 Birchbox was themed ‘Ladies First’, in celebration of International Women’s Day and Women’s History Month.  It’s packed with products that amplify our unique features and help us feel confident and ready to take on the world! 🙂  The samples ranged from healthy hair care sets, smoky eyeshadow duos, bright lip stains, and more. So keep on reading for my unboxing, rundown of all the beauty products in my box, and my overall Birchbox March 2016 review!

The Unboxing

birchbox march 2016 review and unboxing
birchbox march 2016 review and unboxing
birchbox march 2016 review and unboxing

My Review

In total, my March 2016 Birchbox came with five samples in the skincare, hair care, and makeup departments.  Here are the products I received, along with my initial impressions of each.

Wilma Schumann Skincare Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads

Wilma Schumann Skincare Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads (Full size: $18 for 5 pairs, Value of sample: $3.60 for 1 pair) – These pads are supposed to help with fine lines, wrinkles, and puffiness.  They’re made with 100% pure collagen, plump and restore the youthful appearance around your eyes, and enhance eye contour.  I’m looking forward to trying these out on a day when my under-eyes could use some extra help!

citrus pectin Beautiful Nutrition Healthy Hair Diet Conditioner and Shampoo

Beautiful Nutrition Healthy Hair Diet Shampoo (Full size: $16 for 13.9 oz., Value of sample: ~$2.30 for about 2 oz.) – This is a sulfate-free shampoo, that’s also free of synthetic dyes, parabens, and fragrances.  It gently cleanses while infusing hair with a citrus-enriched, ultra-nourishing formula.  I can’t wait to try this – I’m always on the lookout for sulfate-free hair products!

Beautiful Nutrition Healthy Hair Diet Conditioner (Full size: $16 for 13.9 oz., Value of sample: ~$2.30 for about 2 oz.) – This is described as an ultra-nourishing, luscious conditioner. It claims ‘infuse brittle strands with just the right blend of nutrients to restore softness and shine’.  This stuff smells amazing – so citrusy – and I can’t wait to try it out with the shampoo.

theBalm® cosmetics Stainiac lip and cheek stain (1 of 1)

theBalm® cosmetics Stainiac (Full size: $17 for .3 oz., Value of sample: $2.27 for .04 fl. oz.) – This is a two-in-one lip and cheek stain that claims to provide a ‘natural, understated flush’. It has a gel formula that delivers a bright sheer tint. I love using it on the lips – it really does last.  It also goes on smoother than other lip stains I’ve tried, and doesn’t dry out the lips or settle into fine lines.  On the cheeks, it’s a little bright, but still pretty if you need a quick fix!

Cargo Land Down Under Eye Shadow Palette (Full size: $34 for .36 oz. shadows, eyeliner, and brush, Value of sample: ~$9.00 for .1 fl. oz.) – I received two eyeshadows that are taken directly from the original 12-shadow palette.  The shadows are highly pigmented and have a smooth and silky texture, similar to the quality of other Cargo powder products.  The colors are gorgeous and complement one another beautifully.  I really lucked out with the colors I received – they work perfectly with my brown eyes!

Here’s the Balm Stainiac lip and cheek stain swatch, followed by the Cargo eyeshadow swatches in ‘Sand’ and ‘Ferry’.

thebalm stainiac lip and cheek stain swatch

theBalm Stainiac lip and cheek stain (first applied)

thebalm stainiac lip and cheek stain swatch

theBalm Stainiac lip and cheek stain (stain after it has set)

cargo eyeshadow swatches in sand and ferry

Cargo eyeshadows in ‘Sand’ and ‘Ferry’

Final Thoughts

Overall, I was really happy with the products in my March 2016 Birchbox.  The samples were all pretty decent sizes, especially the Cargo eyeshadow duo, which is basically equal to a full size eyeshadow pan.  The value of all the products was decent – I calculated an approximate $20 total value.

If you’d like to try out Birchbox’s monthly box, sign up here.   And if you are subscribed, let me know what you thought about your March 2016 Birchbox samples!

Share: