Birchbox July 2016 Review & Unboxing

Birchbox July 2016 review and unboxing (1 of 1)-6

The July 2016 Birchbox is themed ‘My Morning Routine’ and is filled with beauty products that help us get prepped and looking pretty for the day – from SPF sunscreen and cleansing Micellar water, to fresh Summer fragrances.  Every box this month comes with a mascara – one of the top ‘essential’ products that us girls use in the AM before leaving the house. Keep reading to see the full rundown of the products I received, along with my overall July 2016 Birchbox review!

Birchbox July 2016 review and unboxing (1 of 1)-6

Birchbox July 2016 review and unboxing (1 of 1)-6

My Birchbox July 2016 Review

In total, my July 2016 Birchbox came with five samples, mostly in the skincare department, along with one makeup and one fragrance sample.  Here are all the products I received, along with my initial impressions of each.

MDSolarSciences™ Mineral Crème SPF 50 Broad Spectrum UVA-UVB Sunscreen (1 of 1)

MDSolarSciences™ Mineral Crème SPF 50 Broad Spectrum UVA-UVB Sunscreen – This is a mineral-based SPF 50 formula that’s safe for acne- and rosacea-prone skin.  I personally love the formula!  It’s not greasy at all and actually feels super silky on the skin – sort of like a primer. It rubs in quickly and doesn’t turn your skin white. Plus, it’s infused with antioxidants for extra skin-repairing and antiaging benefits, and is also cruelty-free!

Balance Me Radiance Face Mask

Balance Me Radiance Face Mask – This is a lightweight mask that’s meant to boost the skin’s luminosity in just five minutes. It features a multi-tasking, clay-based formula that cleanses, exfoliates, and brightens.  I love the natural, earthy scent of the mask and how quickly it absorbs into my skin.  It really does brighten and hydrate my skin, while providing a little bit of exfoliation in the process.

Marcelle 3-in-1 Micellar Solution

Marcelle 3-in-1 Micellar Solution – I’m a big fan of Marcelle and love their makeup so I was excited to receive this little guy for an intro to their skincare. Like most of their products, it’s gentle and hypoallergenic so it’s great for all skin types (there’s no soap or alcohol in this one!).  It’s formulated with aloe and cucumber which calms the skin while the solution also removes makeup and cleanses. I personally use Micellar solutions in the mornings, and am interested to see how it compares with my current favorite by Simple Skincare.

Smashbox Cosmetics X-Rated Mascara (1 of 1)

Smashbox Cosmetics X-Rated Mascara – This buildable, long-wearing mascara features ‘Tripod fibers’ which stack on lashes to create lots of extra volume.  It also comes with a triple bristle brush that isolates, magnifies, and saturates each lash with layers of color without smudging or flaking.  You can do a few swipes for an everyday look, or add a few more for a more dramatic, amplified effect. I love that I see little to no clumping, even when I layer over and over again.  It adds amazing length and creates a lot of volume at the base on my lashes for a natural yet dramatic look.

Raw Spirit Fragrances Mystic Pearl Eau de Parfum (1 of 1)

Raw Spirit Fragrances Mystic Pearl Eau de Parfum – Raw Spirit Fragrances was inspired by the pearls born deep within the South Seas when they created this perfume. They worked in notes that incorporated the freshness of the ocean mixed with island flowers, spices, and fruits like jasmine, frangipani, coconut, cinnamon, and clove – and I think they hit the mark!  It comes out to be a very feminine, light fragrance that almost touches on the powdery side.  It also has some spice and fresh aquatic notes about it that make it very fresh and exotic smelling.  I can see this working well as a sexy nighttime fragrance to wear out to dinner during the Summer months.

Final Thoughts

Overall, my box for July 2016 had some fun little goodies that I definitely see myself using in the AM.  The stand-outs in this box were the Marcelle Micellar Solution, the super volumizing, clump-free Smashbox X-Rated Mascara and the silky smooth MDSolarSciences™ Mineral Crème.

Birchbox July 2016 review and unboxing (1 of 1)-7

If you’d like to try out Birchbox’s monthly box, you can sign up here. And if you are subscribed, let me know what you thought about your July 2016 Birchbox samples.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Share:
  • Ursula Ball

    I enjoyed your Birchbox review which has several items I would love to use or try out! I went with Featured Box theme of “Beauty and Breakfast” which I used all the items for my late Morning look…hair, skin, face! 🙂

    Ursula

    http://www.blueridgebeautyblogger.com

  • Abby Evans

    I love the outside of this month’s box! Looks like you got some great stuff!

    http://www.youarebeaut.blogspot.com