Birchbox February 2016 Review & Unboxing

birchbox february 2016 unboxing

The February 2016 Birchbox was themed ‘What’s the Occasion?’, and came packed with a bunch of little goodies to help us create our very own ‘not-quite-everyday looks, from easy hairstyles to versatile makeup techniques’.  The samples ranged from fresh fragrances, hair oils, lip liners, and more. So keep on reading for my unboxing, rundown of all the beauty products in my box, and my overall Birchbox February 2016 review!

The Unboxing

february 2016 birchbox review

february 2016 birchbox review

birchbox february 2016 samples

My Review

In total, my February 2016 Birchbox came with five small-sized samples in the skincare, makeup, fragrance, and hair care departments.  Here are the products I received, along with my initial impressions of each.

birchbox february 2016 samples

ren glycol lactic radiance renewal mask

REN Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask (Full size: $55 for 1.7 fl. oz., Value of sample: $16.18 for .5 fl. oz.) –  I can’t wait to try this out (it was actually one of my sample choices this month).  It claims to recover a ‘healthy-looking glow in just 10 minutes’, and gently exfoliates, clarifies, and reduces the appearance of fine lines for a more toned complexion.

COOLA® Face SPF 30 Unscented Matte Tint (Full size: $36 for 1.7 fl. oz., Value of sample: $3.60 for .17 fl. oz.) – Oh, what do you know, another product from COOLA.  I feel like I see their face tints and lotions a little too often in my boxes.  And I never really use them – most times than not their shades just don’t match my skin.  Oh well, maybe I’ll just mix it in my foundation during the summer months when I need the extra SPF.

FHI brands daily beauty for wildlife healing argan oil

FHI Brands Daily Beauty for Wildlife™ Healing Argan Oil (Full size: $14 for 2.1 fl. oz., Value of sample: $3.33 for .5 fl. oz.) – This oil claims to hydrate, de-frizze, repair damage, and add shine. For one thing, it smells amazing – like a day at the beach in a little bottle.  I actually use hair oils every time I shower, so I’m anxious to give this one a try and see how it performs against some of my favorites.

Catherine Malandrino Romance de Provence Eau de Parfum – (Full size: $80 for 1.7 fl. oz., Value of sample: $2.82 for .06 fl. oz.) – I actually like this scent, though there’s nothing particularly unique about it.  It’s very sweet and floral – perfect to wear out on a spring or summer day.  Reminds me of the BCBG Max Azria Bon Genre perfume.

model co lip enhancer illusion lip liner

ModelCo Lip Enhancer Illusion Lip Liner (Full size: $20 for 1.5 g, Value of sample: $9.33 for .7 g) –  I’m pretty impressed with this lip liner.  It comes in just the one shade – nude rose – which I find to be very natural looking.  On top of that, it’s very pigmented, provides a smooth application, and even lasts pretty long on the lips.

Here’s a swatch of the ModelCo lip liner:

model co lip enhancer illusion lip liner swatch

Final Thoughts

Overall, I was pretty pleased with the products in my February 2016 Birchbox.  The samples were all pretty decent sizes, especially the Ren Glycol Lactic Radiance Renewal Mask which I was most excited to try out.  The value of all the products was worth it too – in total, I calculated a $35.26 value.

If you’d like to try out Birchbox’s monthly box, sign up here using my link.   And if you are subscribed, let me know what you thought about your February 2016 Birchbox samples!

Share:
  • Love the way you photographed all of this. I used to have a Birchbox subscription but the samples were piling up faster than I could use them. I am planning to re-subscribe again at some point though. Receiving the samples is so much fun! That lipliner looks really good. I got Coola sunscreens a couple of times too but I love sunscreen so this wasn’t an issue for me.

    xx freshfizzle